OTT Question TimePostsOTT Question Time #47 – The Other Streaming Wars

Kauser KanjiNovember 15, 2021

When we talk about The Streaming Wars who do we think of as the major players? Amazon, Disney and Netflix, undoubtedly, but also, given its huge customer base and deep pockets, Apple TV+? And surely Sky too as a trusted, multi-territory brand with bags of experience? But outside of this theatre there’s a parallel drama going on – what we might call The Streaming Skirmishes – between another group of huge companies like Discovery, NBCUniversal, ViacomCBS and WarnerMedia. Where do their OTT services fit in? That was the topic of this week’s OTT Question Time (Thursday 18th November, 4pm UK / 5pm CET / 11am ET).

Together with a panel of expert analysts, Simon Murray of Digital TV Research, Toby Holleran of Ampere Analysis and Alan Wolk of TVREV, we discussed:

  • These significant others including BritBox, HBO Max, Hulu, Peacock and Paramount Plus
  • Their products, prospects and performance
  • Pay models, consumer budgets and SVOD stacking
  • Whether The Streaming Wars is really a thing at all
  • And how the next five years in the future of TV might play out

**